EC certifies vote, determine runoff order

06/21/2019 08:45 AM
TAHLEQUAH – The Cherokee Nation Election Commission on June 3 certified vote counts for the June 1 general election, then confirmed those race outcomes on June 20.

A total of 13,870 of the tribe’s 72,781 registered voters cast ballots for a 19.06 percent turnout, according to the EC.

The official election report is as follows:

Principal Chief
Chuck Hoskin Jr.:7,933 (57.51 percent)
Dick Lay: 3,856 (27.95 percent)
David Walkingstick (disqualified): 2,006 (14.54 percent)

Deputy Chief
Bryan Warner: 8,060 (58.88 percent)
Meredith Frailey: 5,630 (41.12 percent)

District 1
Rex Jordan: 672 (57.88 percent)
Ryan Sierra: 489 (42.12 percent)

District 3
Wes Nofire: 310 (29.47 percent)
Debra Proctor: 306 (29.09 percent)
Billy Flint: 124 (11.79 percent)
RJ Robbins: 113 (10.74 percent)
Jim Cosby: 103 (9.79 percent)
Larry Dean Pritchett: 79 (7.51 percent)
Brandon Girty: 17 (1.62 percent)

District 6
Daryl Legg: 794 (56.71 percent)
Gary Trad Lattimore: 466 (33.29 percent)
Ron Goff: 140 (10 percent)

District 8
Shawn Crittenden: 603 (83.4 percent)
Ralph F. Keen II: 80 (11.07 percent)
Jodie Fishinghawk (disqualified): 40 (5.53 percent)

District 12
Dora L. Smith Patzkowski: 215 (32.92 percent)
Phyllis Lay: 197 (30.17 percent)
Todd M. Branstetter: 150 (22.97 percent)
Don Scott: 91 (13.94 percent)

District 14
Keith Austin: 579 (56.82 percent)
Cara Cowan Watts: 440 (43.18 percent)

Julia Coates: 994 (44.75 percent)
Johnny Jack Kidwell: 679 (30.57 percent)
Steve Adair: 371 (16.70 percent)
Pamela Fox: 143 (6.44 percent)
Wanda Hatfield (disqualified): 34 (1.53 percent)

Runoff election
Three races will be decided July 27 in a runoff election for Dist. 3, 12 and an At-Large seat.

The top two vote-getters in Dist. 3’s seven-candidate race were Debra Proctor with 29.09 percent and Wes Nofire with 29.47 percent. Proctor will be listed first on the ballot, then Nofire based on a random draw for positioning by the EC on June 20. The winner will replace David Walkingstick, who will term out after having served eight years in office.

In Dist. 12, there were four candidates. Phyllis Lay and Dora L. Smith Patzkowski took the top spots with 32.92 percent and 30.17 percent, respectively. Based on the ballot draw, Patzkowski will be listed first. The victor will replace Lay’s husband, Dick Lay, who is terming out after eight years in office.

The At-Large seat drew five candidates, one of which, incumbent Wanda Hatfield, was disqualified prior to the June 1 general election. Johnny Jack Kidwell, with 30.57 percent of the vote, and Julia Coates, with 44.75 percent, will face off in the runoff election. Coates will be listed first on the ballot.

The EC planned to have an estimated 5,000 absentee ballots printed June 20, then mail them on June 24-25.

Voters who received an absentee ballot for the general election will be sent an absentee ballot for the runoff, according to the EC. For those who did not receive an absentee ballot for the general election, the deadline to request one was June 17.

All winning candidates will take their oaths of office on Aug. 14.

Runoff Precincts

District 3
Sequoyah High School Cafeteria
17091 S. Muskogee Ave., Tahlequah

Keys Community Building
19083 E. 840 Road, Park Hill

District 12
NO WE TA CN Community Center
1020 Lenape Drive, Nowata

Housing Authority of Cherokee Nation Keeler Heights
1003 S. Virginia Ave., Bartlesville

VFW Post 7977
133169 N. Cincinnati Ave., Skiatook
About the Author
Bio C ... • 918-453-5269
Bio C ...


11/12/2019 09:00 AM
Du-wi-shi, or more commonly known as wishi...

11/12/2019 09:44 AM
The Oklahoma casting call seeks N...

11/12/2019 09:20 AM
TULSA, Okla. (AP) – Oklahoma’s 35 tribal nations with casinos have...

11/11/2019 12:06 AM
Tribal officials s...

11/08/2019 08:48 AM
The National Congress of American Indians sup...

11/09/2019 02:11 PM
Full-time, part-time and seasonal p...