Red Earth Festival announces call for 2020 artist applications

11/27/2019 01:30 PM
OKLAHOMA CITY – Artist applications for the 34th annual Red Earth Festival, scheduled June 13-14, are being accepted.

The event will be held in The Event Center at the Grand Casino Hotel & Resort in the east Oklahoma City metro.

Red Earth officials said the event “has set the standard for Native art markets throughout the country” and draws thousands of people to celebrate Native visual art and dance. The 2020 Red Earth Festival will feature a new sunrise breakfast, Red Earth dance and special performances, and an artist’s mixer.

Artist applications for the juried art market can be found at, or obtained by calling 405-427-5228. Booth space is limited and is filled on a first-come, first-served basis.

The Red Earth Festival has been listed No. 4 on the list “10 Places in the U.S. where you can experience Native American culture” by Matador It is recipient of numerous awards and honors, including a Redbud Award for “Outstanding Event” from the Oklahoma Tourism & Recreation Department and recognition as a Top 100 Event in North America by the American Bus Association.

The three top award winners of the 2019 Red Earth Art Competition included Tuscarora artist Rosemary Hill of Sanhorn, New York, who won the Grand Award for Best of Show for her beaded collar titled “Women’s Collar Artist Portraits.” Lester Ortiz, a Navajo jeweler from Mentmore, New Mexico, won the Red Earth President’s Award for his piece titled “Blue Moon.”

And Judy Tafoya, a Santa Clara Pueblo potter from Santa Clara Pueblo, New Mexico, won the Kathleen Everett Upshaw Award for her piece titled “Winged Blessings.

First place winners in the 2019 competition by category were: Yonavea Hawkins (Caddo/Delaware), Beadwork; Alberta Henderson (Navajo), Clothing/Textiles/ Weaving; Yonavea Hawkins (Caddo/Delaware), Cultural Items; Linda Kukuk (Choctaw), Drawing/Graphic/Photography; Daniel Worcester (Chickasaw), Diversified Artwork; and Clifton Aguilar (Santo Domingo Pueblo), Contemporary Jewelry.

Other first place winners were Abraham Begay (Navajo), Traditional Jewelry; Donn Clark (Dine/Chiricahua), Painting, Oil/Acrylic; Lauren Reed (Choctaw/Cherokee) Painting, Water-based; Chase Kahwinhut Earles (Caddo), Traditional Pottery; Karin Walkingstick (Cherokee), Contemporary Pottery; and Gene “Iron Man” Smith (Sioux/Choctaw), Sculpture.


12/11/2019 10:12 AM
The Symposium on the American Indian wi...

12/06/2019 03:47 PM
Cherokee speakers will meet at 12:30...

12/04/2019 04:46 PM
Appointments can be made un...

11/22/2019 02:34 PM
Cherokee artist Mary Aitson wi...

11/09/2019 02:05 PM
Cherokee speakers will meet Nov. 14 in ...