OKLAHOMA CITY -- AARP Oklahoma is accepting nominations for its 13th annual AARP Oklahoma Indian Elder Honors, which celebrates 50 Native American elders who have positively impacted their country, state, communities and Indian Country.

?"Regardless what we experience today, one unwavering constant is our elders' brilliance and resilience," AARP Oklahoma President Joe Ann Vermillion said. "For some, their service is well-known and well-documented, but others shy away from recognition as they quietly exhibit devotion to their communities."

?Since its inception in 2009, AARP Oklahoma's Indian Elder Honors has recognized nearly 600 elders from Oklahoma's 39 tribal nations. Past honorees include teachers, veterans, artists, tribal leaders and culture preservationists.�

?"The elders connect and ground us to our past, keep us mindfully present and inspire future generations to become better curators of communities and cultures,' AARP State Director Sean Voskuhl said.

?The AARP Oklahoma Indian Elder Honors are slated for later this fall. Nomination applications are online at�https://aarp.cvent.com/2021AARPElderHonors. Nominees must be an enrolled citizen of one of Oklahoma's 39 tribal nations, at least 50 years old and living. Nominees are selected based upon their contributions to and social impact on their communities, tribal nations, and/or country. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Nominees do not have to be AARP members to be considered. Honorees will be selected by AARP.

For information or to request a mail-in nomination form, call Mashell Sourjohn at 405-715-4474 or email�msourjohn@aarp.org. The deadline for submitting nominations is March 31.

Cherokees who were honored in 2020 were Cherokee Nation citizens Jackie Townsend, Mark Rogers, Frances Ramsey, Ira M. Phillips, Justen Bolen, JoKay Dowell, Nancy Hansen Edwards, Mae Dean Erb, Bill Horton, D.J. McCarter and United Keetoowah Band citizen Rebecca Dreadfulwater.